These Bricks I’ve Laid

A temporary kingdom

now a tomb.

What once gave me freedom

is now a place

in which I struggle

to breathe.

I poured all my energy

into building walls

to protect:

Cement stirred in a mixer

made from the need to hold on

but the desire to flee.

Moulds crafted by bare hands –

armour at the cost

of broken skin.

Bricks placed high

hold all I treasure inside.

Fond memories

distant laughter;

my soul.

Now what was once a castle

is now a cell without a key

and its queen

a figurehead behind walls

no one can break through

 

but, I guess, from the outside looking in

I’m free…

 

 

 

Leave a Comment

