​From the Top Now

Tap, tap, tap

thoughts drum against my skull

to its beat I walk.

Tap, tap, tap, tap

hear the faint sounds

of the bass in the background

pound against my temple

my legs buckle but I do not fall.

Tap tap, tap tap, tap

the guitar chimes in

a melody chaotic and wonderful

runs rampant in its living cell

strings plucked and I’m stuck

between a walk and a run.

Tap tap tap tap tap tap…

I’m lost waiting for the singer to take hold

of this mess of tone and chord

a conductor to change this breathless pace —

When will I realise that the singer can’t be anyone but me?

2 thoughts on “​From the Top Now

Leave a Comment

