Happy Valentine’s Day!

So I played with the idea of sending out a really mushy poem today, but I found this performance poetry from Def Jam Poetry and it just fit (haha!)

Happy Valentine’s Day and enjoy Shanelle Gabriel’s Why I Love You*

*Contains some strong language

 

Why I Love You:

They say the human body

Has over 50 billion white blood cells…

And I need every single one

Because you

Make me…

Sick.

You are the fish that I would

Throw back

But for some reason

As opposites,

We attract!

We show our admiration in love taps,

“I Hate You!” matches,

And sarcastic wise cracks.

All the qualities of my soulmate…

You lack.

 

Your attempts at being romantic

Are simply pathetic.

The last massage you gave me

Required a paramedic.

The first time you cooked me dinner

I had to pump my stomach.

And you just like picking fights.

If I say go left,

You go right.

If I say it’s day,

You swear it’s night.

You still think our anniversary

Is the 10th of May;

It’s the 9th

Of MARCH!

The Golden Arches

Is the closest thing to jewelry

I’ve ever seen from you.

For my last birthday,

You gave me a Twinkie

With one candle.

You wear socks with your sandals!

And, no, not the short ones,

The ones that pass your ankles.

 

You’re a die-hard Nas fan;

I like Jay-Z.

Like most Black folk and lactose products

We just always seem to disagree.

You think Angelina Jolie

Is the epitome of beauty.

I think she’s overrated and her lips are crusty.

You like chicks that are busty,

And I’m a proud member

Of the Itty-Bitty Titty Committee.

Now, I’m a country kind of gal;

You like the city life.

I’m a revolutionary woman;

You think we should all be barefoot housewives.

I remember the last time I cried…

You gently

Wiped my eyes,

And whispered in my ears,

“Baby…

Suck it up.”

And I know it’s bugged,

But I still love you,

Like Whitney loves crack.

Cause for some reason as opposites,

We attract.

And truth be told,

That romantic crap usually doesn’t last.

 

But what matters most is that

You complement me

Like air through my lungs.

And there are over a trillion nerves

In the central nervous system…

You get on every single one.

You know you do…

But for some reason,

That’s why I love you.

 

 

 

 

 

*Video by SpokenPoetryTV

Leave a Comment

