Words for the Synthesisers

I was playing with a poetic form called the ‘Villanelle’. The Villanelle is made up of five tercets (3 line stanzas) , and one quatrain (four line stanza) , with two ines that are repeated in each stanza (not much to do, right?).

This is my Villanelle:

 

WORDS FOR THE SYNTHESISERS

Don’t say it’s easy being a tree,

on any kind of day,

a tree is the hardest thing to be.

 

With my nemesis constantly

beating against my bark, making me sway.

A tree: it’s the hardest thing to be

 

when you have to wait and see

if the rain will fall like tears  or sun rays.

Do you still think it’s easy being a tree?

 

Hoping that the sun shines on me,

if it shines, just so I can live. They

can’t say it’s easy being a tree.

 

When the sky unleashes its cold burdens mercilessly

and I can’t fight to keep the ice away

from my roots. It’s hard being a tree.

 

A slave to nature, a human’s necessity,

Hurt by hands that stifle life to use and abuse me.

When I live in a constant struggle, don’t say it’s easy being a tree.

We battle each day with rest. A tree is the hardest thing to be.

 

If you want to look at more Villanelles, here is a link. (I think my favourite is by Dylan Thomas).

 

 

 

 

*Featured image from: © Mayo Wynne Baxter LLP.

2 thoughts on “Words for the Synthesisers

Leave a Comment

