What Better Place To Start Than The…

My first post is a little personal; It’s a poem about how I picture myself: I’m a really quiet person and I tend to spend a lot of time in my head rather than in the world (daydreamer by default), but I’m changing for the better I think.

I figured what better place to start than here…

WORDPLAY

Scrabble:

Think. Don’t say, think.

What are you gonna say?

What can you say?

What can you say?

“Hi? How are you?”

Pick your words carefully now.

Scramble:

Words build-up like phlegm at the back of my throat,

Solidifying, choking me, I heave connectives.

Fallen c’s and capital t’s scratch at the roof of my mouth;

Anecdotes leave the sides of my tongue inflamed and little

White spots store my “When I was younger I’s” and my “I know someone that has’s”.

Scram:

WARNING, WARNING! SYSTEM OVERLOAD, SYSTEM OVERLOAD!

Words can’t break through the barrier of dull white and pale yellow.

EMERGENCY DRAINAGE IN 5, 4, 3…

Tongue, stuck with the clean-up, curls around my sentences,

saliva lassoes the missed ‘yeah’s’ and ‘oh really’s’, hurls them

at my throat and I unconsciously swallow.

Scum:

No one likes the awkward silences…

One thought on “What Better Place To Start Than The…

Leave a Comment

